Internet Slang, Jokes

羡慕嫉妒恨 [xiàn mù jì dù hèn]

羡慕嫉妒恨 [xiàn  mù  jì  dù  hèn]

v.  & n. <Expression> Literally “to envy, get jealous of, and hate”, this expression is often used to describe envy rather than jealousy.

On the bus, sitting opposite us were a middle-aged couple who held hands throughout the trip and kept exchanging loving words. Seeing them made me envious, jealous and hateful. After getting off the bus, I said to my husband: “Look at them, so old yet still so romantic. We’ve only been married a few years, and you already don’t pay much attention to me, much less hold my hand and say things I want to hear. I’m so envious of them!” Who would’ve imagined my husband saying: “What are you envying them for? Did you not see that they are not from the same family [meaning they are not husband and wife]?!”

Leave a Reply

