writer, blogger, race car driver, and director Han Han
writer, blogger, race car driver, and director Han Han

段子手 [duàn zi shǒu] n. Internet joke or quip writer.

Friends say, Han Han, you’ve been more and more like an Internet joke writer. I said, what do you mean by “like”? I’ve always been one. Don’t look down on Internet joke writers. When I wrote essays as a child, for fear that other people don’t want to read them, I wished I could embed humor everywhere in the text. As a result, my later novels and essays have all been characterized by such vibes. In a society [like ours], I share joys, because I hope that everyone will feel happy after reading [my works]. I hide my pains, because I fear that people will be happier after seeing them.

[Note: Han Han has been dubbed “National Father-in-Law” on Weibo because of his adorable daughter Han Xiaoye. Netizens enjoy captioning the pictures he shares on Weibo to either win his “favor” or to draw a comparison between the silly father and the cute daughter.]

朋友说,韩寒,你最近越来越像一个段子手了。我说,什么叫像,一直就是。别看不起段子手。小时候写文章,就怕别人读不下去,所以恨不得处处出彩,段段有 点,导致以后的小说和杂文都带着这种气息。在这样的社会里,我分享快乐,是希望大家看到以后都能快乐。我隐藏痛苦,是害怕大家看到以后更快乐。