Jokes

How I Lost a Friend

wenling-landmark-mountain

My classmate asked me, “How do you say ‘crab’ in your Wenling’s [a city in Zhejiang Province] dialect?” I answered, “Ha.” She repeated, “How do you say ‘crab’ in your hometown dialect?” I answered, “Ha.” Exasperated, “… Then how do you say ‘fish’ in your dialect?” I: “En?” (a nasal sound) She said, “I’m asking about ‘fish’ in your dialect, how is it said?” Me, “En?” … then she didn’t want to talk to me anymore…

[Note: This is a pun joke. “Crab” is pronounced “ha” in the Wenling dialect, but ha” is also commonly a response when one is confused or failed to hear someone else clearly, similar to “what?” or even “pardon me?” in English.]

同学问我:“你们温岭方言里螃蟹怎么说?”我说:“哈”。她重复:“你们方言里螃蟹怎么说?”我说:“哈”。她很无奈:“······那你们方言里鱼怎么 说?”我:“嗯?”(鼻音)。她说:“我是问你们方言里的‘鱼’,是怎么说的?”我:“嗯?”······然后她就不理我了······

Leave a Reply

