When I went home yesterday afternoon, I saw an old grandma sitting on the stoop of our apartment building. She covered her face with both hands so I wasn’t able to see her facial expression. Her elbows supported by her knees, she just quietly sat there. I didn’t know what she was going through. Struggling with loneliness in the later years of her life? Her partner passed before she did? Her children failed to care for her? Why are senior citizens’ life circumstances always connected with sorrow? Was that society’s responsibility? As I mulled over those issues, the old lady moved her hands away from her face and called out, “Ready or not, here I come!”

 

昨 天下午回家时,单元门台阶上坐着一个老婆婆,双手捂着脸,严严实实看不到表情,胳膊支在膝盖上,静静坐在那。不知道她正在经历什么,艰难孤独的晚年?老伴 离她而去?儿女疏于尽孝?为何老年的境遇总是会与悲情联系到一起?社会的责任?我正在思索时,老人打开捂着脸的双手,大喊了一声:藏好了吗?!
Source: Sina Weibo