Pictures

Louis Koo Hates Makeup

Louis Koo: At that time we were shooting [Cold Blood Warm Heart] day after day, night after night. How come your skin wouldn’t get lighter? I rarely wore makeup when I was filming. Why did I rarely wear makeup? Because I loathe putting on makeup! When you go home for a one- or two-hour break, what are you going to do, removing the makeup, taking a shower, or getting some sleep? Pick one. You were so worn out…why do you want to remove the makeup? Get some zzz’s! There is only one way to get away with wearing makeup—get tanned!

Pics  Weibo

Alicia Keys quitted makeup in May last year, but under duress, most female artists still dare not go bare. I don’t really think wearing makeup is a way of showing respect. It is just a way of catering to the male-dominated aesthetic culture: Young, fair-skinned, ageless…The funny thing is that Wallace Chung is touted for his flawless skin partly because he lives many Chinese women’s dream. Do we fans sexually objectify Wallace as many men sexually objectify women? [允悲] There seems to be a fine line between admiring beauty and obsessing over appearance…

The obsession over appearance has a huge impact on me. I too swoon over people who max out the cute-o-meter. Sometimes I caught myself rating people’s appearance in my mind…[嘘] Hopefully one day I will be less scared of getting old or ugly and less judgmental of a plain Jane. [小黄人剪刀手]

Leave a Reply

